Milan | Duomo

Being the materialistic person I am, I loved the area surrounding the Duomo for the unlimited number of shops. Whenever I wanted to take a moment to breathe by myself, I escaped from my classmates and headed over to the Duomo stop on the red metro line. What better way to experience one of the fashion capitals of the world than to shop? Here are my favorite spots to visit around the Duomo metro station.

Duomo
The Duomo (Italian for church) is an obvious must see in Milan. The Duomo has the most amazing facade and the inside is gorgeous. I highly recommend walking along the rooftops to get an overview of Milan.

Duomo

Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II
Just left of the Duomo (assuming you’re in the plaza full of pigeons facing the front of the Duomo) is this stunning shopping area with the most luxurious brands like Prada, Louis Vuitton, Versace, etc. The architecture is ornate and the area is well lit with the sunlight peaking through the glass ceiling. The cafes in this gallery have their chairs all turned outwards because the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II is one of the best spots in Milan to people watch.

Excelsior – Galleria del Corso, 4
A concept department store one of my classmates showed me. Excelsior houses some of the most fashion designs, product designs, and food. While the store is an absolute joy to explore, don’t except to walk out with anything other than Laduree macarons (try the Marie Antoinette!) or a new cell phone case if you want to spring the cash for it.

excelsior

Laduree

Luini – Via Santa Radegonda, 16
Hands down, Luini is my favorite food place in Milan; I went back there every week by myself to have my panzerotti (a savory pie that looks like a turnover) fix. Luini’s panzerotti is cheap, fresh and delicious. The dough is remarkably soft!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Couldn’t resist a bite before taking a photo!

My friends and I asked a few locals where to eat and they all said we had to try Luini, and boy were they right! They were so good we went back and got seconds right after we had our first. While the line looks long, it moves quickly so you never have to wait too long for panzerotti. I highly recommend the spinach and cheese, salami or the mozzarella and tomato.

Luini

La Rinascente – Piazza Duomo
I spent at least two hours wandering around La Rinascente, which is literally right next to Luini,; the one in Milan is the flagship department store. My favorite floor is the home goods section, where you can find kitchen goods necessary to make authentic Italian cuisine. La Rinascente is where I bought my stovetop moka maker.

& other stories – Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, 1
In the heat that was beating down all summer in Milan, I was on the hunt for affordable silk clothes. I came across the wonder that is the store & other stories. They also sell stylish leather shoes for a reasonable price! I ended up leaving with a pair or straight gray jeans and a full, textured navy midi skirt.

Cos – Corso Venezia, 5
As recommended by my stylish Italian friend, Camilla, Cos is a fun store to explore. The designers play with proportions of the body and work with more minimal shapes. Though I didn’t end up purchasing anything that day, I loved seeing how much I saw Camilla’s style in the store.

Leave a Reply

